Skip navigation

PLEASE GIVE

It’s been a while since I recommended a DVD of the week, and it’s time damn it! The first is a quirky little comedy that I love so much, I demand you watch it. It nicely sums up the contradictory lives we live managing accumulating wealth and the guilt we feel because of it. It also touches on infidelity without “real reason” and insecurities despite age. I think Please Give uses a very simple, clean plot to tell a  very clever and funny story. And Catherine Keenan just keeps getting better. Must watch.

 

DUE DATE

I know this film did not receive very good reviews but I watched it two days ago and laughed so much I had to take a break from my Oporto meal. That never happens. Road trip films are predictable so the quality of the film relies solely on the acting chops of the protagonists and Robert Downey Jr and Zach Galifianakis make a really great dysfunctional pair. Brush off the hoity toity reviews. This is funny.

Leave a Reply

